Institut Charles Sadron Présentation

The Institut Charles Sadron (ICS) was created in 1947 to develop the fundamental science of polymers at the interface between chemistry and physics, and to guide the explosive birth of the polymer industry. Since then, the ICS has been able to establish itself as a global player in various fields related to the science polymers and self-assembled systems.
Located in Cronenbourg, the ICS is a “Unity propre” (UPR) of the CNRS, associated with the Institute of Chemistry (INC) of the CNRS, in close interaction with the Institute of Physics (INP) and the Institute of Sciences of engineering and systems (INSIS). It is also associated with the University of Strasbourg and INSA Strasbourg, with strong links to the Physics and Engineering UFR, the ECPM and the Faculty of Chemistry. The ICS is a key player in the Carnot Mica Institute and in the Federation of the Materials and Nanosciences Research of the Grand Est, and is involved in numerous national and international networks.
Structured in seven research teams and four platforms, the ICS brings together 53 researchers and teacher-researchers, 38 engineers, technicians and administrative staff and around 100 doctoral students, post-docs, associate researchers and internship students.
Following a multidisciplinary approach, the scientific mission of the Institute covers the science of polymers and self-assembled systems, from the mechanisms of formation of macromolecules to the fundamental understanding of their properties, both in dilute and condensed phases.
Our current research efforts may be grouped into four main topics, which are treated in a collaborative manner by different teams at the interface between chemistry, physico-chemistry, experimental and theoretical physics:

  • Fundamental aspects of polymer science
  • Soft matter and interfaces
  • Self-assembled systems
  • Functional macromolecular materials
The study of "functional" polymers and materials strengthens the institute’s role in the scientific community by providing major industrial perspectives in the future field of health and energy.
Thanks to the support by the CNRS, by the Strasbourg Idex, the International Center for Research at the Frontiers of Chemistry, the “Contrat Plan Etat Régions”, the European Union and the National funding agency ANR, the ICS has the ability to invest nearly 1 million Euro per year in advanced scientific equipment. The scientific expertise of the ICS and the wide range of analysis methods allows the institute to resolve many R&D issues in the academic and industrial sector. The research teams and the three plateforms (polymer characterisation, electron microscopy and micromechanics) thus collaborate with numerous academic and industrial teams around the world. The first two platforms are ISO 9001 certified. The fourth platform, MICASOL, is located at the synchrotron Soleil to enables in-situ characterisation of macromolecular systems at all scales.
With a consolidated annual budget of more than 11 million euros, the ICS has between 65 and 90 contracts in progress per year and around fifty partners, and has the means to continue to innovate, adapt and renew to imagine now the polymeric materials of the future.

Institut Charles Sadron Présentation

L’ICS a été créé en 1947 pour développer à la fois la science fondamentale des polymères à l’interface entre la chimie et la physique, et pour accompagner la naissance de l’industrie des polymères. Depuis, l’ICS a pu s’établir comme acteur mondial dans différents domaines liés aux polymères et systèmes auto assemblés.
Situé à Cronenbourg, l’ICS et une « Unité Propre » (UPR) du CNRS, associé à l’Institut de Chimie (INC) du CNRS et en interaction forte avec l’Institut de Physique (INP) et l’Institut des sciences de l'ingénierie et des systèmes (INSIS). L’Institut Charles Sadron est également associé à l’Université de Strasbourg et à l’INSA de Strasbourg, avec des liens forts avec l’UFR de Physique et Ingénierie, l’ECPM et la Faculté de Chimie. L’Institut est aussi un acteur clef de l’Institut Carnot Mica et de la Fédération de Recherche Matériaux et Nanosciences Grand Est, et impliqué dans des nombreux réseaux nationaux et internationaux.
Structuré en sept équipes de recherche et quatre plateformes, l’ICS rassemble 53 chercheurs et enseignants-chercheurs, 38 ingénieurs, techniciens et administratifs et environ 100 doctorants, post-docs, chercheurs associés et stagiaires.
Suivant une approche multidisciplinaire, la mission scientifique de l'Institut couvre la science des polymères et des systèmes auto-assemblés, des mécanismes de formation des macromolécules à la compréhension fondamentale de leurs propriétés, tant en phase dispersée qu'en phase condensée.
Notre projet actuel concentre nos efforts de recherche sur quatre thèmes majeurs traités d’une manière collaborative par différentes équipes à l’interface entre la chimie, physico-chimie, physique expérimentale et théorique :

  • Aspects fondamentaux de la science des polymères,
  • Matière molle et interfaces,
  • Systèmes auto-assemblĂ©s,
  • MatĂ©riaux macromolĂ©culaires fonctionnels.
L’étude de polymères et matériaux « fonctionnels » vient renforcer la place du laboratoire dans la communauté scientifique en apportant des perspectives industrielles majeures dans le domaine d’avenir que sont la santé et l’énergie.
Par ses succès lors des appels à projets, par le soutien de l’Idex de Strasbourg, du Centre International de Recherche aux Frontières de la Chimie, du Contrat Plan Etat Régions, de l’Europe et de l’Etat, l’ICS a la capacité d’investir près de 1 M€ par an en équipements scientifiques de pointe. L’expertise scientifique de l’ICS et le large éventail de méthodes d’analyses permettent à l’institut de répondre à de nombreuses problématiques R&D du secteur académique et industrielle. Les équipes et les trois plateformes internes de caractérisation des polymères, de microscopie électronique et de micromécanique collaborent ainsi avec de nombreuses équipes académiques et industriels à travers le monde. Les deux premières plateformes sont certifiées ISO 9001. La quatrième plateforme implantée sur le synchrotron Soleil permet de réaliser des mesures physiques in-situ et d’étudier le comportement des matériaux à toutes échelles.
Avec un budget annuel consolidé de plus de 11 millions d’euros, l’ICS compte entre 65 et 90 contrats en cours par an et une cinquantaine de partenaires, et a les moyens de continuer d’innover, de s’adapter et de se renouveler pour imaginer maintenant les matériaux polymères du futur.